Love In The Mail

So March has been a pretty stressful month- I’m in the process of re-registaring which involves a lot of paperwork in a foreign language… Thankfully my counterpart has been awesome and doing a lot of additional work on my behalf- without complaint.

Have I mentioned how awesome my co-workers are?

Besides, that I’ve trying desperately to fundraise money for Camp MAKE.

Why?

Because, we are all born to make a difference and the kids of Ukraine deserve to know that.

IMG_7051

Thankfully it seems mail always comes to Ukraine when I need it the most to cheer me up… and I have gotten some pretty wonderful things in the mail recently.

My grandmother sent some adorable little Hello Kitty, Spiderman, Barbie, and sports-related Valentines for my students along with some slippers, and Smartfood popcorn.

IMG_7045

IMG_7054

And yeah… even though, it wasn’t Valentine’s Day that made a lot of kids very happy.

IMG_7053

It’s great to hear a series of “ook-tees” (wows).

IMG_7050

The littlest things make these kids extremely excited.

IMG_7059

(or leave them in awe)

IMG_7062

And a Valentine all the way from a America is definitely “klass” (cool)…

IMG_7060

Especially if you can play with it 😉

IMG_7056

IMG_7058

IMG_7057

THANK YOU- grandma we love you a whole big bunch!

Besides, Valentines… my students got a lot of love sent to them from our friends at the Circle School.

IMG_6942

IMG_6941

IMG_6938

And I have to say I was as excited as my students to receive them! 🙂

IMG_6935

IMG_6950

There were a lot of very beautiful drawings, some wonderful extra gifts for their friends such as photos and stickers… and some extremely sweet messages for their friends.

IMG_6943

But this one is probably my personal favorite 🙂 :

IMG_6939

I could hardly wait to give them to my students.

IMG_6990

Letter days I’ve decided are always good days…

IMG_7010

It’s great to see the students so excited to write, read, and translate their letters.

IMG_7003

IMG_7023

It’s also great to see them work-together to help translate and read their letters.

IMG_7022

She watches television???

IMG_7027

Cool so do I…

IMG_7029

IMG_7030

IMG_7034

IMG_7035

IMG_7036

IMG_7037

IMG_7008

It’s great to hear each kid- say their friend’s name…

IMG_7019-1

And ask questions– especially my little sixth formers who are naturally curious about everything related to America.

IMG_7014

IMG_7038

IMG_7039

IMG_7041

And yeah… there’s always a lot of laughter at my expense when I try to explain their letters in Russian/Ukrainian 😉

IMG_7043

My fourth form’s eyes got so wide when, I took out their letters…

IMG_6970

They had been pretty persistent on asking when they would get new ones- so they could hardly believe it.

IMG_6968

And the fact their letters had about 2-4 pages each made some extremely happy kids. 🙂

IMG_6953

Fourth formers are so “klass” (cool) to work with because- they find the smallest details of their letters “klass” (cool)… even when it is something as simple as learning the name of their friend’s mother.

IMG_6954

Or how their friend’s name is said in English.

IMG_6967

The great thing is they quickly got to work on writing back!

IMG_6966

I’m hoping we’ll finish the letters before our Spring Break… although one student is the hospital because he broke his arm.

IMG_6963

The Circle School is great… and I’m glad the teachers at our school have been ok with me using regular classroom time to ensure that the kids can have some help writing their letters.

IMG_6961

Pen-pals are a great cultural tool…

IMG_6956

And a great teaching tool for writing.

IMG_6962

Besides, that who doesn’t love making a new friend? 🙂

“We’ll be Friends Forever, won’t we, Pooh?’ asked Piglet.
Even longer,’ Pooh answered.”
― A.A. Milne, Winnie-the-Pooh

If you’re a Peace Corps. volunteer considering doing a pen-pal program DO IT:

IMG_6939

(And yes… I’m posting that photo again- because doesn’t that make your heart melt in all sorts of ways? It shows it all- peace and friendship :))

Yes my students and I definitely got a lot love in mail.

IMG_7004

Who doesn’t love getting love in the mail? 😉

THANK YOU CIRCLE SCHOOL!

“How many slams in an old screen door? Depends how loud you shut it. How many slices in a bread? Depends how thin you cut it. How much good inside a day? Depends how good you live ’em. How much love inside a friend? Depends how much you give ’em.”
― Shel Silverstein

We hope to be sending some love your way soon! 🙂
Wishing you peace and love,
Miss Kimberly and your friends in Ukraine

P.S. Friends and Family: If you want to personally send me something– I’m more than willing to sacrifice the postage you’ll pay for Smartfood popcorn for the kiddos at Camp MAKE. 😉 keep in mind that it’s a tax-deductible donation.

Leave a Reply

