The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year

IMG_4725

It’s official the holidays are over. I marked the end of the holiday season when, I ran out of the seasonal cookies and gingerbread tea my mother sent me.

As usual, I’m super busy and therefore behind on blog entries about the festivities at school, life here in Ukraine, and the 2-week vacation my school gave me.

In Ukraine, the holiday season can be rough for volunteers. Since Christmas isn’t celebrated until January, 7th (Ukrainians follow the Russian Orthodox calendar).

However, New Year is celebrated similarly to Christmas- people decorate trees, give gifts, and kids get visited by a Ukrainian version of Santa Claus.

It can still be the most wonderful time of the year!

IMG_4729

This year, I asked my school if my students could do two weeks worth of activities related to holiday traditions in the United States and Great Britain.

We discussed– Hanukkah, Kwanza, New Year’s traditions in America, and of course Christmas.

The kids learned about the legend of Santa Claus.

Here are they are doing a crossword puzzle related to a text we read in class.

IMG_4727

IMG_4728

IMG_4730

It was a week of games, crossword puzzles, power points, holiday music, and  prizes!

The kids really liked it when they learned about the saying ‘naughty‘ or ‘nice‘- if they said they were nice they got to pick a treat out of a gift bag– if they were naughty, they got a picture of coal :).

My crazy boyfriend (also a volunteer) came up to my site for a week during the Christmas holidays.

We met in Odessa over the weekend (six hours away from both him and me).

IMG_4772

And yes- I may just visit Odessa so I can visit my favorite restaurant! This breakfast sandwich is uber cheap and super yum! 😀

IMG_4773

The great thing about Odessa is there are so many ex-pats and foreigners there. So, it was really nicely decorated for both American Christmas and New Year.

It’s a charming city…

IMG_4777

Very quiet in comparison to Kiev.

And sort of like walking in a winter wonderland…

IMG_4804

No one is ever in a hurry here…

IMG_4813

And it is such a parallel to many any other European cities…

On Christmas Eve, I stringed some popcorn.

For the first time ever.

IMG_4864

And my crazy boyfriend made us some butter chicken for Christmas Eve dinner. (With a few different varying ingredients).

IMG_4871

A nice treat since, it’s very difficult to find spicy food in Ukraine!

On, Christmas morning we exchanged gifts and I headed off to work to see these faces:

IMG_4907

We had a whole day of Christmas activities that included word searches, a listening activity with Frosty The Snowman, writing Christmas cards, watching a power point…

IMG_4908

And having some fun!

IMG_4911

It was a nice break for them and me– especially since they had finished their exams the week earlier.

IMG_4913

IMG_4916

(Our Christmas vocabulary)

IMG_4919

Finally- towards the end of the week I got invited by some of my students to their New Year’s parties.

IMG_4984

Each class, had their own party- this is the party for my fourth form all-stars:

IMG_5035

IMG_5037

IMG_5038

IMG_5039

Aren’t they adorable?

The kids, had games…

IMG_5091

IMG_5096

Relays…

IMG_5102

IMG_5103

And a lot of fun!

IMG_5120

It was really nice to be included in their celebration of the upcoming New Year.

IMG_5130

IMG_5142

And yes there was even dancing!

IMG_5157These kids know how to dance 🙂

IMG_5176

I kind of think of Ukrainian New Year as Christmas meets Halloween. The kids, dress up in some adorable costumes and outfits.

IMG_5186

And get gifts from their own version of Santa Claus.

IMG_5211

IMG_5231I was also invited to come to my fifth former rock-star’s party as well.

IMG_5268

Here the kids performed a skit on an alien visiting Ukraine learning about the New Year(or at least that’s what I think it was ;))

IMG_5272

They had relays…

IMG_5436

Games…

IMG_5466

IMG_5537

IMG_5538
(Is Miss Kimberly taking our photo again?)

IMG_5540

(In Ukraine– their version of Santa Claus is always seen with the ‘Snowmaiden’ who is believed to be his granddaughter and he always seen carrying a staff).

IMG_5547

IMG_5553

And yes- there was dancing! Although I didn’t get many photos because, the kids asked me to join 🙂

I did the chicken dance, and some other moves that brought dorky dancing to Ukraine 😀

I think Americans call the holidays ‘the most wonderful time of the year’ because, of the people we get to spend the holidays with.

Even though I was far from home.

It was still a wonderful holiday season…

IMG_5587

Filled with new and old friends… My new school family…

And my Peace Corps. family.

IMG_5595

And it was still one of the most special/greatest times of the year!

Wishing you peace and love in the NEW YEAR! Happy year of the snake! 🙂

(And more to come on the traveling that followed during school vacation ;))

3 thoughts on “The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year

  1. Ah, Odessa! It’s so nice to see your pics of that city, especially those colorful Christmas trees in the street : )

    Btw, I noticed some of your students wearing their winter coats in the classroom. Is it usually cold in the classrooms there?

  2. There’s a problem with our town’s main gasline– so a lot of homes and buildings don’t have gas heating. We use small electric radiators and electric heaters instead. 🙂 So, we let the kids wear coats in the classrooms if they feel uncomfortable.

Leave a Reply

