Because Everyone Loves A Good Story

A few months ago, I requested books from Darien Book Aid(a program that sends used children’s books to Peace Corps. Volunteers for free). To be honest our school’s English room is pretty well stocked- with young adult literature(thanks to the hard work of previous volunteers). But the little ones at our school, don’t have much age approiate reading material.

IMG_4621

So I sent, a quick e-mail over to my friends at Darien Book Aid asking for some books for our school’s lending program and about a month later, I received a box of gently used children’s books in the mail (with a focus on Disney, fairy tales, animals, and science- exactly what we needed!).

IMG_4620

IMG_4619

It took me awhile to distribute the books to the school… why? Because, I wanted to make the book drop ‘extra special’ for my students. And I thought what better way then, creating the lending program right before our holiday break?

IMG_4633

So, we talked about American holiday traditions(with a focus on Santa Claus- because the kids LOVE him) and I gave my students some ridicolously cute holiday word searches.

IMG_4635

'Hi America!'

‘Hi America!’

It was a nice break from book work and a little treat they had earned– after all the hard work they did on their exams…

IMG_4660

IMG_4657

IMG_4656

IMG_4654

Fun stretch break with my crazyily-awesome counterpart! :)

Fun stretch break with my crazyily-awesome counterpart! ๐Ÿ™‚

Me: If you find all the words you get a sticker.
My students: Cool. WOW.

IMG_4643

IMG_4642

IMG_4641

IMG_4639

They were posing really adorable...

They were posing really adorable…

...until my counterpart accused them of being boyfriend and girlfriend.

…until my counterpart accused them of being boyfriend and girlfriend.;)

IMG_4651

My snowman is red because, he's on fire.

“My snowman is red because, he’s a fireman…”

"My snowman is yellow because my dog peed on it!"

“My snowman is yellow because my dog peed on it!” ๐Ÿ˜€

And when they finished coloring in their word searches. I took out the books donated to our school… and they were so wide-eyed. I told them, they could each take a book home to read over the winter break.

Their choice.ย 
IMG_4668

I have Mickey!

“I have Mickey!”

This little boy wanted to read his story so much he wouldn't look up when I was taking pictures :)

This little boy wanted to read his story so much he wouldn’t look up when I was taking pictures ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_4677

IMG_4669

IMG_4676

They were so excited…

IMG_4683

Swapping stories… looking at the pictures in their books.

IMG_4687

IMG_4705

IMG_4696

IMG_4697

IMG_4695

IMG_4693

IMG_4692

And yes, even skipping to the end of their stories. ๐Ÿ™‚

Apart of our New Year’s lending program each child got a book to take home and they’ll have to write a report over the holidays on the book they took home. But, there were no complaints(about having some additional work over the break).

IMG_4691

The kids were so excited about having new reading material… they couldn’t put their books down. Including one little girl who kept hugging the book to her chest.

IMG_4686

IMG_4681

My student: “Can we read more?”

Me: “Yes… but finish your new book first and then you get another one to read.”

My student:”Cool.

IMG_4708

It was a great day for them and for me…

IMG_4698

The one thing the Peace Corps. doesn’t mention during training is that… it’s really the little things that make the biggest difference.ย 

IMG_4699

Little things like books about dinosaurs, Disney movies, fairy tales, and allowing your students to do word search puzzles(after a long week)…

IMG_4702

And yes– even signing autographs for your students(when need be)

IMG_4712

(yes that’s me signing autographs! After my students asked for them :))
IMG_4713

IMG_4714

And it’s those little things during those days- when you had less-than-spectular lesson planning or less-than-stellar ideas… that you will remember most.

IMG_4718

And cherish…

Thank you, Darien Book Aidย for making such a big difference in the lives of my students, the children of Ukraine, and children in Peace Corps. posts around the world.I only wish you could see the joy you spread through giving reading material to kids who desperately want and need it!

'Thank you for the lesson! GOODBYE!'

‘Thank you for the lesson! GOODBYE!’

Thank you for giving us all a great day!

From our corner of the world to yours- HAPPY NEW YEAR! ๐Ÿ™‚

Wishing peace and joy in the New Year!  Love Miss Kimberly's Students in Ukraine

Wishing you peace and joy in the New Year!
Love Miss Kimberly’s Students in Ukraine

Leave a Reply

