Never Helpless

Whenever, I’m sad… or feeling gloomy about the state of the world. I always open up my iPhoto program and try to find some familiar faces- that somehow always make me smile :).IMG_2472

Like most Americans, my heart is broken by the news I heard from Connecticut. The distance between Ukraine and the USA doesn’t change that.  After all, America has always been a country that has stood together in tragedy.

Instead the distance only makes me feel helpless.

Helpless to help- a community going through some pretty unspeakable pain.

Helpless to help- parents that lost children during what should be the most wonderful time of the year.

Helpless to help- some pretty scared children, who are probably having nightmares at night.

But, you know what? I’m no longer hopeless about the state of our country… why?

IMG_2470

Because, there are so many good, and kind people emerging who want to help.

There are still people in our country, who like me- truly believe America is better than this...

IMG_2464

…People that have been inspired to make a difference, to show the world just that.

And their drive has inspired me to work a little harder.

Give a little more.

And love a little harder.

IMG_2465

During tragedies we place blame where it’s convienant, grieve for a couple of days, and then move onto the next tragedy(because, in America we know surely there will be another tragedy).

Each time, getting a little more cynical that no progress can be made towards changing our society or benefiting the lives of others…

Each time losing some of that incurable optisim that the world knows- America for.

IMG_2426

While forgetting that maybe when we unite together in tragedy. We should also stand united together… even without it.

IMG_2395

This post isn’t about gun control policies or how we should treat the mentally ill in America, or even a pro-Obama post.

This post is about: how we should treat one another.

Sometimes you just need to be reminded  that we’re all in this crazy life and world together.

IMG_2390

And because of that, we shouldn’t spend our time being divided.

We should work with one another….

IMG_2391

And care for one another because this crazy life, is too short to be alone.

In this case our ‘fatal optisim’ might actually be our saving grace because, we know-we are better than this

When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news, my mother would say to me, “Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping.”  To this day, especially in times of ‘disaster,’ I remember my mother’s words and I am always comforted by realizing that there are still so many helpers – so many caring people in this world. – Mr. Rogers

Look for the helpers- they’re there.

Hug your children extra close tonight and be thankful that you can...

And hold onto that crazy hope- that you’re never helpless to make this world and our country a better place.

IMG_2396

Because, you can…  😉

Leave a Reply

