Mom In Ukraine

I know… this post has been a long time coming. But I have a little free-time now being homebound due to the snow… (Not to mention the fact- I  found some pretty awesome photos of Ukraine that I took- this summer. 🙂 that I wanted to share)

My mom, came to visit for a week last August.

IMG_3027

And after being away from home/family for almost year… it was nice to see her.

Not to mention the fact she had two suitcases filled with games/classroom posters/children’s books in English for my students, new work clothes(that fit! like many PCV’s I went through a little weight loss since being in country),and American food I missed (aka-Peanut Butter, Peanut Butter, & PEANUT BUTTER!).

Pretty much all the things I had been wanting/wished during the last year. It was like Christmas in August.

IMG_2997

It was kind of a crazy time, since I was in the middle of getting information regarding my site transfer. Because, I’m a TEFL volunteer and it was summer- the communication between Peace Corps. and potential new schools was a little slow, and they also had to find a landlord who would be willing to help me register(due to Ukraine’s new policy regarding foreign  workers)… so the Peace Corps., was busy tying up some loose ends at the time.

Not that I’m complaining!  My host country’s capital-Kiev is an awesome place to have a temporary home in… and it was nice to be in a major metropolitan city after living in a village.

IMG_3006

IMG_3013 (And yes, Minnie Mouse and Spongebob like to hang out here too 😉 )
IMG_3020

IMG_3023

IMG_3033

Street performers playing a traditional instrument on Khreschatyk Street

It was also pretty funny to see my mom encounter her own crazy string of rotten luck in Ukraine that ranged from having her credit card be eaten by a machine in our hotel’s lobby (on her second day in the country).

IMG_3034

To having her foot bizarrely injured by a can of falling Peanut Butter on our last night in the country.
IMG_3080

(Maybe, our Polish ancestors were cursed too?)
IMG_3035
IMG_3038IMG_3039IMG_3041
It was also nice to have mom, to distract me from the crazyiness of everything and to celebrate the news when I was told of my new home.

IMG_3046
IMG_3047

Eating Chicken Kiev in Kiev!

Eating Chicken Kiev in Kiev!

I had fun showing off some of my host country’s city… and a few of the local customs here including drinking Kvass (a nonalcoholic drink made from wheat/bread that can be found on every street corner during the summer in Ukraine)

Although mom didn't like it much!

Although mom didn’t like it much!

(If you’re interested: You kind find an easy homemade Kvass recipe here.)
IMG_3049IMG_3053
And just so you know- there’s more to Ukraine than being known for having the world’s worst nuclear disaster. Ukraine is BEAUTIFUL…
IMG_3055

And I kind of wish more people knew that.
IMG_3056
(I kind of love the clouds here.)
IMG_3058

Ukraine is slowly trying to transition itself to being a more ‘tourist friendly’ nation- by offering more English menus in restaurants, training police officers to know some basic English, and by encouraging schools to have more of an English emphasis when it comes to teaching foreign languages (which is one of the reasons why I think Peace Corps. Ukraine has so many TEFL volunteers).

So, we spent our one crazy week together… before heading off to meet my dad and my brother in Poland! (More to come on that later ;))

4 thoughts on “Mom In Ukraine

  1. Thanks!!! I love taking pictures. As for Kvass- it’s kind of an acquired taste- I think that’s why many foreigners don’t like it. But it sure does clench your thirst on a hot summer’s day! 🙂

  2. Hello! Do you know if they make any plugins to protect against hackers?
    I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked hard on.

    Any suggestions?

  3. Whoa! This blog looks just like my old one!
    It’s on a totally different subject but it has pretty
    much the same layout and design. Superb choice of colors!

Leave a Reply

