Starting Over

It’s been a long time. I know. I have been awful on updating.

I blame my lack of updates on not having a power cord-thank you power surge of 2012 for frying mine.

So you and I have a little catching up to do… You know the crazy thing is that- I am almost one year into service?

Yeah. I know. Most people seriously doubted, I would last this long… (To be honest, I didn’t think I would either.)

But everything has somehow changed. I’m not sure if it is the change in location, being surrounded by new people, or if something has suddenly changed in me.

When I realized I would have to start over. I was a little terrified.

Why? Because, it meant new names, new faces, and leaving everything I had known behind (wether or not it was good– it was still the ‘known’).

But, it took one day on the job to fall in love with some of my students.

First Bell Ceremony

First Bell Ceremony



And working younger classes which has renewed my love in teaching English… Anyone who knows me, knows- that the young classes are usually my ‘speciality‘. It’s great to see young kids get a giant smile when you walk into the room and excited even by the simple things.

They make my days better just by saying ‘Miss Kimberly‘ with their thick Ukrainian accents.

First day of school

First day of school

The atmosphere at my new school is so much quieter, so much more relaxing, there are smaller class sizes- which makes me able to know students by name, and I’m able to share the responsibilities of teaching with- co-workers who are involved and engaged.

You always tell how much a teacher is loved by how many flowers they receive at First Bell Ceremony.

You always tell how much a teacher is loved by how many flowers they receive at First Bell Ceremony.

And most importantly they care about the development of their student’s language abilities.

IMG_4155-2

My new co-workers are also seriously some of the nicest people I’ve met in Ukraine. They’ve helped me solve problems and have gone out of their way to make me feel welcome, and involved in their classes.

In my town. I’ve been celebrating birthdays.

img_4179-1-2

img_4177-1-2

And I’m slowly starting to get to know people.

img_4188-1-2

While also perfecting the art of making ‘Mashed Potato Pancakes’ (this is my favorite recipe)

536511_10151152734978208_957600082_n-1-1

And spending some free weekends in Odessa- kind of the pearl of Ukraine. (And only six hours away from my site by train)

It’s hard to believe that has almost been a year. It’s kind of weirdly exciting to be starting over almost a year into service. I think it has also helped me avoid the ‘mid service funk‘ that some PCV’s find themselves in.

Everything is new.

img_4164-1-2

And somehow that makes everything exciting….

I had a rough first year. But things, have been slowly working themselves out.

And I finally find myself enjoying my job, and enjoying the simple things about life in Ukraine.

A far contrast from where I was a year ago– when I had hit the lowest lows in my life and everyone had seemed to notice it too.

Starting over, can be kind of scary, not to mention challenging. But, sometimes, you need to start over… in order to find yourself again.

To any PCV’s out there- facing similar obstacles hang in there, and no matter what your going through- just keep swimming šŸ˜‰

There are far better days ahead then, the ones you leave behind.

IMG_4163-2

2 thoughts on “Starting Over

  1. Love the update. Love the attitude.

    *sends love to the Kim* Thank you, as ever, for being of service!

Leave a Reply

